Skip to content

Farewell letter from Pastor Annie

May 25, 2016

Dear brothers and sisters in Christ,

When I started at Redeemer in late August 2010 I was a brand new, first call pastor. I came to you with experience as a high school teacher, a missionary and a hospital chaplain … but being the solo pastor of a congregation was new to me, and it felt new. I danced with uncertain steps. Over time, with your help, with God’s help, my steps became more certain and sure, more in time with yours and with the Spirit.

Now I find myself facing a situation that is new to me in ministry: leaving a call. It feels new. I am dancing with uncertain steps. But you are dancing with me with grace and love and support. And I can feel the Spirit guiding me, keeping time when my steps falter.

When I leave, your dance will continue. This congregation is full of amazing dancers. Redeemer is blessed with strong lay leaders, with remarkable staff members, with musicians that inspire. The congregation is growing in numbers and, even more importantly, in faith development and discipleship. I expect this growth will continue, not just when a new pastor is called, but in the interim and transition period, too.

Redeemer is a congregation that takes delight in gathering for worship and fellowship. Redeemer is a congregation that provides opportunities for people of all ages to grow in faith and service. Redeemer is a congregation that goes out into the community and the world, building relationships and serving God alongside its neighbors.

Redeemer, by the grace of God and with your help, is going to rock the heck out of this pastoral transition dance.

Perichoresis is a Greek word we use to describe the relationships within the Holy Trinity. You can hear how the word “choreography” is related to it … this idea that, within God, there is a constant turning, a dance of Father, Spirit, Son. We believe God is always in community, and we believe that interrelatedness is always moving, changing … dancing.

Thank you for teaching me how to be a pastor. Thank you for dancing with me, with God, with each other and with the wider community.

May God continue to bless your dance. It is such a beautiful one.

With great gratitude,

Pastor Annie

From → RLC Happenings

Leave a Comment

Leave a comment